June 15, 2004

  • What music is in store for NYC this summer?

    • The Beastie Boys had an impromtu outdoor show at 53rd and Broadway today for the Letterman Show.
    • Franz Ferdinand’s first concert to NYC tomorrow is sold out, but they played a free set at Virgin Megastore today.
    • Stevie
      Wonder was supposed to play a free show last week; its listed as
      postponed, lets hope thats true.  In addition to the Wonder show, Good Morning America and The Today Show are hosting many other morning concerts.
    • The NY Philharmonic does its annual free show on July 14th.
    • The Village Voice sponsors its 4th Annual Siren Music Festival
      at Coney Island.  The lineup includes Mission Of Burma, TV On The
      Radio, The Constantines, The Thermals, Blond Redhead and just too many
      other good bands to mention.
    • The Pixies finally arrive on August 17th for Lollapalooza.
    • Two prolific indie bands, Guided By Voices and Beulah have both announced that they’re calling it quits this year.  Their last show is a free one in NYC.
    • In addition to all this, there are a ton of shows (free and otherwise) in Central Park and Downtown, with artists ranging from The Sugar Hill Gang to The Hold Steady to CJ Chenier.

    I’ve been in NYC for 4 years now, but the Midwestern boy in me is still amazed at how much goes on here in the summers!

Comments (19)

  • Isn’t Phish going to have a simulcast concert aired from NYC? Or am I thinking otherwise?

    Franz Ferdinand… everytime I hear that, my dorky mind thinks about history class.

  • MidWeStErN ??? wHeRe aRe yOu oRiGinAlly fRoM …??? LuCkY YouR NoT fRoM hErE [hAwAii] too mucH oF a ChAnGe tHe fIrSt tiMe i wEnT tO tHe maInlanD … wEll lAtErS

    aMi

  • i definitely need to be there dusing summers and not winters.

  • The Siren Music Fest is going to be HOT. Me and a bunch of friends are roadtripping down to go. I’ve heard TV on the Radio are amazing live, so I’m looking forward to it.

  • I totally want to go to Rufus Wainwright/Ben Folds/Guster in Central Park.

    Now I just need to win a lottery…

  • Can you believe I got sick the day of the Franz Ferdinand show and had to give my ticket away?

  • jus like to say, love that trench coat. almost beats mine on hardcore points.

    eh, hopefully its not some famous guy so i dont go off looking stupid.

  • Damn… I just listened to Franz Ferdinand for the first time ever the other day…

    I thought they were hot…. but if they sold out on their first concert– they must be schmokin’!

  • Hey man, props from Boston.

    Just doin the completely random comment thing.

    [Raises roof.]

    Your pic is pretty badass.

  • I think I’ll be seeing the Beastie Boys. Who else is?

  • Do they still uncork the fire hydrants when it gets over 90? [or do you prefer 32.2 C] ?

  • Just rub it in, Monsur…rub it in! Hehe…

  • heyy umm… one question, pweaase —
    how do i get premade layouts? i dunno but a lot of people are getting them..

  • Hey Monsur,

    I wrote you an email about my xanga account. I hope you got it and was able to respond.  Feel free to delete this comment.

  • hey babe i was just wondering if you could subscribe to my site. i appreciate it. see ya.

    honeybunz686

  • hey man. i’ve got this xanga here that im making for a friend…but he cant see the changes that im making from his computer. im doing the editing from my computer, but he doesnt see any changes on his site from his computer. is this some kind of bug on the server or something? let me know if you can fix this problem. thanks. :)

  • i keep posting this and you guys never seem to see it… but i have a friend who had a xanga, who died 2 yrs ago now, from leukimia. Her name is Sarah and her xanga was Hope628. Is there any way I can save her entire site to make sure we always have it? thanks
    - Raul

  • Please visit my page. I would like to share a new voice feature that you can use on XANGA. Nice website.

    Let’s talk

    Michael

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *