December 3, 2000

  • I remember the joy of downloading my first MP3 (the first of many to follow). That pure esctasy was dimished only by the fact that when I was away from my computer, my MP3s couldn’t come with. Only recently have manufacturers created portable MP3 solutions; but these small memory units come at much too steep a cost. Even the new Creative Lab Nomad, a memory heavy-weight, weighs in at a hefty $400.


    But Geneica’s new MPTrip seems to offer the perfect solution. This device looks like an ordinary portable CD player; in fact it plays ordinary CDs, but with a twist. The device can also read CD-Rs and CD-RWs burned with MP3 files. At 650Megs, one CD can hold about 150 songs! Imagine carrying a whole case of CDs, imagine fumbling to exchange CDs every hour or so. Now imagine abandoning all that for one CD!


    The player has the normal CD features, including shuffle, which is an amazing feature with 150 songs. Using a CD to store information also eliminates the download times that hinder other memory-driven devices. All this makes the MPTrip a very powerful and appealing device, and the best part is yet to come. The MPTrip weighs in at a mere $87, a flyweight in the world of MP3 devices.


    Have my prayers for the perfect music device been answered? Anxious, I did a bit of research, and conveniently compiled it here. The overall buzz on this has been positive, with a few negative comments. The biggest complaint is not with the technology but with the interface. For 10 hours of music, thats a fault I can deal with. My unit should arrive soon; I’ll post my own review once it does.

Comments (1)

  • For my part every person may read this. 7 check 7. This will not succeed in reality, that is what I think. 2 0 go. Here, I don’t really believe this will work. link 5 3. It can’t succeed in fact, that’s what I believe.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *