December 19, 2000

  • Well its the end of the year and with it comes every critic’s top ten movie list. Roger Ebert’s and Richard Roeper’s list have both been released; here are some thoughts:



    • Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon made both Ebert’s and Roeper’s list (#1 on Roeper’s). This was a welcome surprise.
    • The Cell was 6th on Ebert’s list, and I still don’t understand his fascination with the film. Though technically dazzling, I felt it really lacked in a strong story.
    • The new film Finding Forrester made Roeper’s list. Though I haven’t seen it, I saw a clip of it, with what I’m sure is one of the best movie scenes of the year. I won’t give it away, except to say it involves an award, and you’ll know it when you see it…
    • I watch a lot of movies; it worries and amazes me at how many of the good ones I’ve missed. Most of them will work their way to my to-see list.

    Though I haven’t seen near as many movies as I’d like, here’s a list of my personal favorites this year, in no particular order:

    I’m sure there’s more that aren’t coming to mind right now. Agree/Disagree with this list? Have your own personal favorites? Add your comments below.

Comments (7)

  • Hey, Midnitecoffee here…I just saw The Crouching Tiger and Hidden Dragon.  I love movies too…all genres…just haven’t had the time. 

    (BTW, about the NYC thing, I’m just a dogmatic loudmouth depending on my mood. :P )

  • Crouching Tiger Hidden Dragon was rather interesting – a very westernised version of the genre. Almost like delicious Chop Suey if you will….btw, what on earth is Chop Suey??

    Still, was a splendid film cinematographically and had a strong plot for its type. A must-see intro for people unfamiliar with Chinese swordfighting flicks!

  • Shocking to read that GLADIATOR isn’t mentioned?? My gosh, what is up with those Critics that they nominate The Cell and not Gladiator…hmm, I wonder if it’s because Russell Crowe doesn’t have a bust and doesn’t sway his butt when he walks??

    Sheesh, critics make ya sick *lol*
    BTW, THANK-YOU very much for subscribing to my Web-log, hehe! Thanx!

    Regards,
    ZaraD

  • good piece of writing

  • I agree with most of your opinions on favorite movies out this year.  If you liked ‘Almost Famous’, read ‘Let It Blurt’. It’s a biography about Lester Bangs.

  • thanks for posting these links, they reminded me of how many great movies i have to go see before they leave the theaters! 

  • I loved Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon! I also like The Cell, I thought it could have had a great story if it hadn’t tried to be a box office success.  I loved American Psycho; it actually makes you think!  I want to see Find Forrester!

    There’s my 2cents and 2-eprops.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *