January 9, 2007

  • 2007 is off to a great start

    2007 is shaping up to be a wonderful year for technology.  This week alone has put a smile on my face:

    • Yesterday I got an invite to try out the beta of The Venice Project.  It’s television for your computer, from the guys who brought us Kazaa/Skype (and using some of the same P2P innovations).  The application itself is really sweet, but I have yet to find a channel I can continuously watch.  My favorite thing about it: when you put it in standby, it fades out to a small white dot, just like an old tube TV!
    • Today I got an invite to try out Amazon’s EC2 service.  Its about time!  I’m really impressed with what Amazon has been doing for developers lately.  I’ve been playing around with Amazon’s S3 for a while now and I’m excited to build something with the combination of S3 and EC2.
    • Adobe’s Apollo.  This one is coming out soon, and it has the potential to be a truly revolutionary application.  Adobe is doing a great job of building buzz through blogs, screenshots, podcasts and screencasts.
    • The news the entire blogosphere is buzzing about: Apple’s new iPhone.  The demos up on Apple.com are amazing; my favorite is the way you can zoom in and out of photos using two fingers!  Is there anything this phone can’t do?  I’m definitely lining up for this!
    • Just announced!  IRiver will be using Rhapsody’s new DNA system to download subscription music… over Wi-Fi!  Something like this would make Microsoft’s Zune compelling.  I’m really excited about Rhapsody, however, their ideas always seem a bit buggy in practice.  Hopefully this year they’ll refine things and get it right.  This is one step closer to the device I’ve always dreamed about: access to all music from anywhere… heck, just implant the music in my brain!  If only the iRiver could work over EVDO or something instead of just Wi-fi…
    • And of course, Xanga!  We’ve got some cool stuff on the horizon, just wait and see!

    What new technologies of the coming year are you excited about?

Comments (7)

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *