Month: August 2007

  • I have been assimilated!

    I’ve noticed AOL IM taking up way too much memory on my system, so I
    decided to give Meebo a
    try.  At first it felt weird for something as fundamental as
    IM to move into the browser.  There was a lot that I missed,
    like having the prominent blinking taskbar whenever a new message
    appeared.

    But after a few days I must say I really
    enjoy Meebo!  I realize now what a non-issue the blinking
    windows thing is.  I much prefer the more subtle “changing
    browser title” that Meebo uses.  Its less disruptive than a
    flashing window, which allows me to respond to IMs on my own
    time.  To promote Meebo in my taskbar, I use
    IE7 exclusively for Meebo and keep my normal web browsing to
    Firefox.

    Moving my life into the browser has been a general trend lately.  I already blogged
    about InstaCalc
    , and I recently dumped my desktop regex
    checker for RegexPal.  Although
    I’m a bit wary of giving my financial info to a third-party, I think
    I’m ready to try Wesabe when I do bills this
    month.

    My Windows laptop died over the weekend; I’m
    currently on the Ubuntu
    desktop
    , and frankly, with so much of my life online, I don’t
    miss much!